Our Governing Body

Chair of Governors - Mrs Gill Tyler       Vice Chair - Ms Victoria Adshead        Headteacher - Mrs Kerry Forrester

Governors - Mrs Sharon Thomas, Miss Rachel Sims, Mr Graham Lees, Mrs Sue Whaley, Mr Richard Line, Mr Jonathan Hayes, Councillor Eveleigh Moore Dutton, Rev Georgina Watmore, Mr Stuart Rutter, Mr Tom Williams.

Key responsibilities of the Governing Body of Tarporley CE Primary School

  • To provide a strategic framework, within which the Headteacher and staff run the school, by setting visions and aims, establishing structures, setting priorities and targets for school improvement and agreeing policies.

  • To support and challenge the work of the school through appropriate monitoring, and evaluating the impact of agreed plans and policies.

  • To hold the Headteacher and staff to account for the performance of the school, and explain decisions made/ actions taken by the Governing Body to parents and other stakeholders in order to account for the schools overall performance.

The Headteacher is committed to involving the Governing Body in the life of the school, however the day to day management of the school remains the responsibility of the Headteacher.

Structure of the Governing Body

The Governing Body at our school is made up of members of the wider community. We have representation from the Church and the Local Education Authority. We also have two Community Governors, Foundation Governors, Teacher, Staff and Parent Governors. The Headteacher is also a member of the Governing Body.

We meet as a full Governing Body each term with committee meetings also held every term. The Chair of Governors also meets regularly with the Head teacher, Deputy Headteacher and the Chairs of each committee.

Our Governing Body has four committees with responsibilities in different areas.

Leadership and Management Committee and Finance

Teaching and Learning Committee

Children and Community Committee

Policies and Procedures Committee


Our School Policies


Mrs Tyler

Chair of Governors

Mrs Adshead

Vice Chair of Governors

Mr Lees 



Mr Rutter


Mr Line


Mr Williams




Rev Georgina


Councillor Moore-Dutton


Mrs Whaley




Mr Jonathan Hayes



Files to Download